Eventi :: Archivio

01/10/2012 - 02/10/2012
First International Symposium on Innovation and Sustainability in Education
Thessaloniki, Greece,

InSuEdu 2012 - Call for Papers

1st International Symposium on Innovation and Sustainability in Education

Thessaloniki, Greece, October 1st, 2012 - Co-located with SEFM 2010 http://insuedu.iist.unu.edu/

Paper Submission Deadline: June 13th, 2012 (extended to June 20th)


The aim of the Symposium is to bring together educators, researchers and policy-makers who are interested in investigating innovative and sustainable models, methodologies and tools for any level of education.
We especially welcome papers that propose approaches to introduce and sustain innovation in educational systems.
Examples in this sense are innovation and/or sustainability in:
  • formal and informal learning processes;
  • online collaborative learning, peer-production and involvement in real-world projects;
  • areas and contexts presenting particular challenging aspects, such as:
    • training to usage of computer and technological tools to aged or unwilling learners;
    • education of communities who are geographically distributed or live in remote areas;
    • inclusion of people with temporary or permanent disabilities;
    • learning in complex domains (e.g. mathematical/formal principles, methodologies and techniques) and/or with critical target users (e.g. students or practitioners with limited background);
  • the Technology Enhanced Learning research area;
  • the use of educational systems and methodologies in applications that address problems of sustainable development, such as poverty reduction.
Authors are invited to submit original research, position, survey or tool papers on any relevant topic.
These can be either regular or short papers.
Short papers can discuss new ideas which are at an early stage of development and which have not yet been thoroughly evaluated.


  • Collaborative, Adaptive and Personalised Learning;
  • Situated, Mobile and Blended Learning;
  • Technology Enhanced Learning;
  • Innovations in Learning Theory and Pedagogy;
  • Open Learning Communities and Environments;
  • Lifelong Learning;
  • Personal Environment Systems;
  • Intelligent Tutoring Systems;
  • Innovative Education Policy;
  • Vocational Training;
  • Teaching Mathematics, Computer Science, Software Engineering and

Formal Methods

* Use of Formal Methods to Model Learning Processes.


The one day symposium will feature one invited talk and contributed paper presentations.
All contributions in the form of either regular papers, between 12 and 16 pages, or short papers, up to 6 pages, will undergo a peer-review process. All papers should be written in English and be in LNCS format. Detailed information on the submission procedure are available at http://insuedu.iist.unu.edu.
Accepted regular papers and a selection of accepted short papers will be published after the Symposium by Springer in a volume of Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), which will collect contributions to all workshops and symposia co-located with SEFM 2012 (http://www.springer.com/lncs). Condition for inclusion in the Post-proceedings is that at least one of the co-authors has presented the paper at the Symposium. Pre-proceedings will be available online before the Symposium.
A special issue with selected papers may be planned, depending on the number and quality of submissions.


Paper Submission deadline: 13 June 2012(extended to June 20th)
Accept/Reject Notification: 18 July 2012
Pre-proceedings Final version due: 8 September 2012
Post-proceedings Final version due: 20 October 2012


  • Antonio Cerone, UNU-IIST, United Nations University, UN/Macau SAR China
  • Donatella Persico, CNR Institute for Educational Technology (CNR-ITD) Italy


  • Luis Barbosa, University of Minho, Portugal
  • Leonor Barroca, Open University, UK
  • Marco Bettoni, FFHS - Fernfachhochschule Schweiz, Schwitzerland
  • Stefania Bocconi, EC-JRC Institute for Prospective Technological Studies (IPTS), EU / Spain
  • Jonathan P. Bowen, Museophile Limited, UK
  • Antonio Cerone, United Nations University, UNU-IIST, UN / Macau SAR China
  • Brock Craft, London Knowledge Lab, UK
  • Fred De Vries, Open Universiteit, Netherlands
  • Carlos Delgado Kloos, University Carlos III Madrid, Spain
  • Stavros Demetriadis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Yannis Dimitriadis, University of Valladolid, Spain
  • Gabriella Dodero, Free University of Bolzano, Italy
  • Claudio Dondi, SCIENTER, Italy
  • George Eleftherakis, CITY International Faculty, University of Sheffield, Greece
  • Elsa Estevez, United Nations University, UNU-IIST, UN / Macau SAR China
  • Simon Fong, University of Macau, Macau SAR China
  • Patrizia Ghislandi, University of Trento, Italy
  • Dimitris Gouscos, University of Athens, Greece
  • Stylianos Hatzipanagos, King's College London, UK
  • Lynne Hunt, University of Southern Queensland, Australia
  • Panagiotis Kampylis, EC-JRC Institute for Prospective Technological Studies (IPTS), EU / Spain
  • Ioannis Kazanidis, University of Macedonia, Greece
  • Maria Beatrice Ligorio, University of Bari, Italy
  • Allison Littlejohn, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK
  • Stefania Manca, CNR-ITD, Italy
  • Andreas Meiszner, United Nations University, UNU-MERIT, UN / Netherlands
  • Yishay Mor, Open University, UK
  • Paul Birevu Muyinda, Makerere University, Uganda
  • Carlo Perrotta, FutureLab and London Knowledge Lab, UK
  • Donatella Persico, CNR-ITD, Italy
  • Francesca Pozzi, CNR-ITD, Italy
  • Maria Ranieri, University of Florence, Italy
  • Lucia Rapanotti, Open University, UK
  • Steve Reeves, University of Waikato, New Zealand
  • Symeon Retalis, University of Piraeus, Greece
  • Claudia Roda, American University of Paris, France
  • Neil Rubens, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
  • Santi Scimeca, EUN - European SchoolNet, EU / Belgium
  • Sulayman Sowe, United Nations University, UNU-IAS, UN / Japan
  • Marcus Specht, Open Universiteit, Netherlands
  • Julita Vassileva, University of Saskatchewan, Canada


All inquiries should be sent to insuedu-2012@iist.unu.edu